TKK YIA.

“Too many of us are not living our dreams because we are living our fears.”

After losing at the JOS Innovation Awards, I was quite hesitant to enter another competition but then I thought to myself why not because the worst that could happen was that I would lose again and I wanted a chance to apply what I learnt from the previous competition about my pitching. Hence, I signed up for the Tan Kah Kee Young Inventors Award. It was a similar process to just about any competition where I had to submit a proposal, get shortlisted, do a presentation and hope to win.

I was able to get shortlisted for the first round of interview and I learnt to pitch my presentation to cater to what the judges wanted. In this case, they wanted solutions that had a more humanitarian aspect rather than business or technology. I managed to get through the 2 rounds of interviews and was one of 3 projects awarded the Merit Award for my project out of the 199 submissions in my category.

I would never have been able to achieve this without the help and support from my lecturers Mr Joe Yang and Mr Chee. They have been very encouraging throughout my journey and have always given me constructive feedback for me to improve myself.

 

Leave a Reply

