SP Scholarship Awards.

“What matters most is how well you walk through the fire.”

If you asked me a few years ago in secondary school whether I could imagine myself being a scholar, I would have definitely said no because the thought had never occurred to me before. Fast forward to today in 2017, I officially hold the title of an SP Engineering Scholar. However, the route to getting there was definitely not easy.

When I officially began my full-time studies, I had hoped to get shortlisted for the interview for the SP Scholarship but it was only a dream. I knew getting a scholarship would definitely help my parents ease their financial burden and also provide me with opportunities to develop myself and decided to work for it. So I went to do my research on the criteria and knew that I had to attain a minimum of a BRONZE grade for my CCA in SP by the first semester and be ranked the top 5% of my course which was the top 4 as my course only had 80 people.

I did the math and knew that I needed a perfect GPA of 4 for my first semester in order to guarantee myself a spot in that interview. Whereas for the CCA, a BRONZE grade only required 15 points so I thought to myself that I should sign up for anything that gave me CCA points but soon realized after I signed up for a really boring enrichment talk that I didn’t want to waste my time going for things that I wasn’t interested in or cared about. I then went on to participate in only things that I was interested in such as helping out in school events and going for competitions and the CCA points came in automatically. I received a GOLD CCA grade after my first semester in SP and soon received the GOLD with Honours after.

As for being in the top 5% of my course, it was definitely a challenge mainly because of a module called Nature Inspired Design (NID). I never really had problems with my studies because as long as I understood the content that was taught to me during class, exams and tests would never be a problem for me even if I don’t prepare for it. NID however was a project based 8 credit module which meant that it had a huge impact on my GPA and it was infamous for its reputation as the killer module. My class was grouped randomly into teams of 5 or 6 and lets just say I did not have a very fun time.

Thankfully I managed to get my A for the module which I credit my individual components of the assessment for and managed to get invited for the SP Scholarship interview. Afterwards, I received notification that I had been selected as one of the 51 new SP Scholars and attended the SP Scholarship Awards Ceremony on the 25th January 2017.

On the same day I received my scholarship, SP also published a story about me on their Facebook page. Shown below is the write up by SP on my life story.

Leave a Reply

